Column

Book Business

All the craziness of the past two weeks has culminated in a short week. I don’t know about you, but I love short weeks and as you know, have long been an advocate for four-day work weeks. That being said, I am never quite sure what day it is, I feel as if I am perpetually behind, then surprise! here is the weekend again! Like many of you, I’m sure, I’m just too much of a creature of habit.

However, one of my favorite habits is reading! I spent the weekend binging on books and it was a treat. As you know if you read this column often, I tend to listen to audios more than I actually read “real” books. The following are available on our Libby system and I can highly recommend each of them.

If you loved the movie “The Talented Mr. Ripley,” you need to check out “Who is Maud Dixon?” by Alexandra Andrews. It was recommended to me by a fellow librarian and it was a delight. You see it coming, but it was still fun to follow the journey through to the end.

Fans of Erik Larson and David Grann’s novel-nonfiction reads (I just made

that category up) would love “In the Garden of Spite” by Camilla Bruce about a real-life female serial killer. It was just further proof, women can be deceptively dangerous! And that for anyone, holding on to spite and hard feelings can simply poison your life for years and years. Not that she didn’t have a valid reason, but you know what I’m saying. 

I’m sure there is a word for books like these, information taken from newspaper articles and journals and old interviews, then compiled as if you were reading a novel. For someone like me who struggles with nonfiction, it’s a great way to get in some factual reading.

Following celebrity book clubs is something I don’t really have time for, but I did read Reese Witherspoon’s latest, “The Paper Palace” by Miranda Cowley Heller and if you’ve read it, we MUST talk. It is the perfect end-of-summer read and I can see why it was chosen as a book club title  Another semi-light and perfectly charming read is the fall-appropriate title of “The Simplicity of Cider” by Amy E. Reichert. These were great ways to spend the long weekend. Before I forget, “White Water Red” by Becky Marietta was just as good as I thought it would be. The bulk of the book took place in Arkansas, but the story was what held my interest the most. I wish I could have met Red!

I posted a picture of our new books on our social media pages and I know they will fly off the shelves before the weekend gets here. Our favorites are starting to release their fall titles. We have “Forgotten in Death” by J.D. Robb, “Stones Throw” by Robert B. Parker, “Noise” by James Patterson, “Lightning Strike” by William Kent Kruger and more. 

It’s not quite fall, but we’ve gotten the library decorated accordingly. I’m thinking ahead to a creepy activity for October if I can get all the supplies together. These cooler mornings have been perfect for tea in the swing and a bit of reading if I have time before work. Nothing like a nip in the air to get everyone all ‘pumpkin-spicing’ and pulling out the sweaters. 

We received a lot of Fall-ish picture books and Kendall is great about displaying them on the kiddo’s shelves. We also have a lot of patron requests and random titles ordered. We have had a run on WWII titles, Southern titles, and psychological suspense titles including Paula Hawkin’s, “A Slow Fire Burning.” I was not a fan of “Girl on the Train,” but this title has been much anticipated by our readers. 

We’ve added a couple of new DVD series. If I haven’t told you about it, we’ve added the complete series of “Leverage” and “Sanctuary.” Of course as a non-tv watcher, I can only take the word of others. “Leverage” is supposed to be wonderful and the “Sanctuary” trailer was a bit spooky, but the premise sounds great. If you are not a Friday-Nights-Lights-er, then you might want to grab a set to binge over the weekend. 

We are here to help in any way we can. Come see us. We can’t wait to be of service!